Its done

It was August the 17th and I hadn’t seen or heard any sign from Miller Construction in two weeks.  All of a sudden, as I am about to leave for work, up comes Bob, the replacement for Joe who replaced Al who started working on my simple 10×10 deck back in April.  Bob was about to finish it up and I was happy.
Then as I am talking to Bob, Tom Miller calls me.  He says he’s ready for a final walk thru and wants to meet with me at 3PM that afternoon.  I excplain to Tom that I want the TReX rep there and my consultant, Chris, to be there as well before I am willing to sign off on the deck.  Tom says he "can’t afford" to reschedule.  I tell him I won’t pay him the $800 I owe him unless he reschedules it for when I can get Chris and the Trex rep there.
Tom says: "Someday I’ll catch up with you and get my money." and hangs up.
 
So I guess my remodel is done.  I guess I get to keep the abandoned tools and materials left by Tom – the man who just couldn’t afford to have me pay him $800 and return all his stuff just to be civil with me.
 
What an amazing way to do business.
About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Homelife. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Its done

  1. Unknown says:

    Hi, Jim and I are two more Miller Construction disasters. We however are paying to have our deck replaced by a company that knows what they are doing and will eventually have our wood floors that crunch with every step replaced as well. This was a major disaster and if I only could see into the future. Miller construction is probably going to go belly up. In any case there is no money to be had except for his bond which is only 12,000 and after paying lawyer costs wouldn\’t leave enough to bother with. We did file with the BBB and if you do a search regarding him in the BBB site at least future coustomers will see not all are satisfied. I have been trying to find out how to do the same with L&I which I understand can attach his web site with the complaints but so far haven\’t figured it out.I hope all will do the same so any future coustomer will see the complaints and not think he is good as I did since there were no complaints lodged against him when I did my search.Call me sometime so we can have a good laugh/cry together. 425-488-4109 home 206-349-2951 cellDiana

Leave a Reply

