Christmas 2005 wrapup

This is actually our christmas newsletter.
Merry
Christmas!

What happened?

Well, we started the year off with a trip to China and Korea with OMF ministries.  That was followed with a remodel on our home – you can see from my other blogs how that went!  We spent some time at the Ranch this summer with our new caretaker family the Raicharts and friends of Becky’s. Jonathan broke his arm playing soccer.   I bought Jonahtan a Snow board and we went skiing.  Life seems to fly so fast and BUSY seems to be my verb these days.  Now I have two teenagers and keeping my health up is taking more effort.  Computers fill my days, engineering problems, bugs, security, code reviews, and tons and tons of emails – so many that by the time I get home, I don’t feel much like keeping up on the personal ones.
More pictures associated with this news letter are in the Christmas 3005 wrapup photo album.
 

Jonathan’s Perspective:

Hey, it’s Jonathan! This year I’m writing my own little blurb about the past year, instead of letting my family do all the work.
As expected, I’m still way into skateboarding and I’ve progressed a bit through the summer. A lot of the time you can find me hanging out at the Woodinville skatepark, reading a skate magazine, or explaining the intricacies of the sport to my friends.
Unfortunately, my riding took a break when I broke my arm in early September at a “welcome back to school camp” at fort Flagler. My friend Greg fell on top of me while playing soccer (only time I ever played soccer this year, go figure) and snapped my arm. I broke my radius and even popped off the end of my ulna. I got put in a cast for 4 weeks and enjoyed the attention I got, as well as the fungus that grew inside my cast. I’m finally recovered and able to go skating again, and snowboarding.
Yeah, that’s right, snowboarding. My Dad got me a Snowboard for an early Christmas present and I’ve already been out once. I enjoyed it, and, since I already skate, I’ve progressed very quickly for being so new.
Earlier in the year I did something I never had before, that is, shaved my head. I took a razor to it and got a nice sunburn. I’ll never do that again.
For a long time I’ve enjoyed drawing, whether for a class assignment or just doodling. Now I’m bringing my creations to life through animation. I just made the discovery recently of animated gifs and I’m full of ideas as to what movie to make next.
Well that’s the summary of the highlights of my year, so I’ll be seeing ya soon and merry Christmas!
 

Becky’s Perspective:

Hi, Becky here! As you can imagine, it has been a pretty normal year (normal=some trips, melodramatics, school, and of course many play days.)
This summer Mom, Jonathan, and I went to California to see my grandfather, Papa. My dad had to work, so he could not come. We came home a few days early because there were some issues with the remodeling of the house. While the remodeling was going on, I had fun playing with my friends, having Kool-aid stands, and having a reasonably fun summer.
Later in the summer we went to our 160 acre ranch. This ranch is in Idaho. I took two of my friends and we had a great time. Two of my Idaho friends came over also so there were 5 of us girls at one time! Jonathan avoided us by playing with his friends. There is this other girl, named Jenessa, whose family lives in our house when we are not there. They were there for a week of our stay. We have a swimming pool, dogs, deer, elk, and turkeys. We had a great time!
I also got to go to horse camp and take tap dancing lessons once a week. They were near the same time of day so I was really tired when I got done!
Then the day I was dreading came – SCHOOL! I am in 6th grade and my teacher is Mrs. Jekel. She is replacing the last teacher, Mrs. Loudon. We have read some good books this year. One of my favorites is the By the Great Horn Spoon! It took place during the California gold rush. On the last day of school we got to pan for real gold. Well, it actually was just rocks spray-painted gold. We got to wear boots, flannel shirts, and bandanas. After this we were free! (But first we had a school assembly).
This brings us up to Christmas vacation, or the present day.
Thank you for listening to KOMO 4 News. This is Becky Staab signing off.
Happy Holidays!

Debbie’s Perspective:

Merry Christmas to you all! What a blessing it is to know that God cares for us in our lives. As we celebrate this Christmas, the birth of the Lord Jesus Christ, I pray that the Lord is real to you and you can see His hand in your life.
I have seen His soverign hand in our lives this year. He has led us through some hard times and good times but He is always present and cares. Just to let you know, my mom died January 31, 2003 from congestive heart failure and neurological problems she had had for years. Sandy’s step mom, Gwladys (in Salem)  died during 2004 of old age. They are missed.
 
This year has been busy with the usual things of Sandy at work, Jonathan and Becky at Providence Classical Christian School in Lynnwood, WA (Jonathan is in 10th grade and is almost 16 and Becky is in 6th grade and just turned 13!), and I have been helping at school a lot. I correct papers for Becky’s teacher, am the Treasurer of the Parent Teacher Fellowship, take care of the school phone lists, and enter procurred items into the data base for the upcoming auction in March. January and February will be very busy with auction!
 
We had several vacations, the most impressive was Sandy’s and my trip to South Korea and China with OMF. Our friends, the Gakins, took care of the kids for 1 week and the kids were with friends the other week. We were gone for 2 weeks and were able to see what God is doing in these countries. We were able to meet some Christians, see an orphanage in Beijing, visit an underground church, and attend the largest church in the world, Dr. Cho’s church in Seoul. We were tourists and saw the usual sites. I felt very unprepared for the experience because of the West’s lack of knowledge about the East. So I did some “homework” before we went and actually helped others to know what we were seeing a few times.
 
I also drove the kids to CA to see my dad, and visit our friends in Fresno. Dad and I made boysenberry jam – a huge batch! We had berries frozen from 2004 still and a big crop this year. We filled about 38 jars of jam (some quarts but mostly pints and half pints)! We did 3 ½ batches! What a day that was! We came home a day or two early because of the remodeling job on our house and Sandy needed me home. When we started out driving home, we thot we would stay in Medford or about halfway home that night. But, when we got to Medford, we were rarein’ to go so we drove to Salem. By then it was 8 pm but we were awake and ready to be in our own beds, so we drove the rest of the way and got home by 1 am. Since we have traveled so many times to Salem to see Sandy’s dad and step-mom, we know each bend in the road and each store between there and home. So it was no problem getting home – 800 miles in one day! I have never done that as the only driver before!
 
The year has flown by! The kids are growing up! We have 2 teenagers now! They have both grown taller! Jonathan is 5’ 7” last check so he looks down on me! I never expected this time would come so quickly! Now as we are home for Christmas this year with my dad visiting us, we look beyond Christmas to the new year with all it’s mystery. We hope you have a wonderful celebration of Christ’s birth and are ready to walk into the new year with the Lord at your side and guiding your path. He is faithful. I am so glad to know that He cares.
 
A friend sent us a Christmas card this year with this poem on it. It was written by George A. Gladden, Sr. and was on a Walter Drake card. It is called My Christmas Card List. I leave this thot with you. You are all special and in our address book for a reason. Our relationship in the past and now.
 

Have a Merry Christmas!
 


 
My Christmas Card List
 
I have a list of folks I know, all written in a book,
And every year when Christmas comes, I go and take a look.
That is when I realize these names are all a part,
Not of the book they’re written in, but of my very heart.
 
For each name stands for someone who has crossed my path sometime,
And in that meeting they’ve become the rhythm in each rhyme.
While it may sound fantastic for me to make this claim,
I really feel that I’m composed of each remembered name.
 
And while you may not be aware of any special link,
Just meeting you has changed my life much more than you may think.
For once I’ve met somebody, the years cannot erase
The memory of a pleasant word or of a friendly face.
 
So, never think my Christmas cards are just a mere routine
Of names upon a Christmas list, forgotten in between.
For when I send a Christmas card that is addressed to you,
It’s because you’re on the list of folks I’m endeared to.
 
For I am but a total of the many folks I’ve met,
And you happen to be one of those I prefer not to forget.
Whether I have known you for many years or few,
In some way you have had a part in shaping things I do.
 
And every year when Christmas comes I realize anew,
The best gift life can offer is meeting folks like you.
So, may the spirit of Christmas that forevermore endures
Leave its richest blessings in the hearts of you and yours.

 
About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Homelife. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas 2005 wrapup

  1. Sicheng says:

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

