Rare Jewel

I just finished readingThe Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment by Jeremiah Burroughs.
My wife has had this for years and I have been meaning to read it – but its a tough one to get through. 
It;s a list of sermons on why it is good to be content and bad to not be and how to get contentment.
It’s hard to read because its spiritually convicting and a little tedius.
The gist is that contentment is obtained not by overcomming that which discontents you but by taking away your desire for release from whatever it is.  This is best done by ballancing your blessings against your trials.
Its simple to say but very hard to do.
After awhile I felt Jeremiah was actually barking up the wrong tree.  I happened to hear a sermon by Doug Wilson who mentioned that contentment is a gift of God – and I have to agree.  Just as we can’t beat sin, we can’t force contentment on ourselves – God must grant it.
That was actually a bit of a relief for me since I doubt I could get myself to ever feel perfectly content – being the idealist I am.  And it would seem that for some, being discontent is what drives us to excell and solve problems.  I don’t say discontentment is a gift, but it could have a purpose in the lives of some if there is a lawful solution to the problem.
Being discontent for discontent sake is just plain stupid so no arguements with Burroughs here.
 
A deep book, read it if you have time, but a little tedius.
About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

