The curse of Xmas Ligts and the blessings of a flat tire.

Catchy title huh?
Good!
So this christmas was a bummer but I decided I should at least put up some house lights.  So up to the attic I went and as I started testing the strings I found out that most of them were bad.
Hmmm….
Wonder if this label on the strings means anything: Not intended for use beyond 90 days.
Yah, that could be a factor – cheap lights.
So I hunted on the internet till I found out about this tool that helps you fix your lights – seemed like a good investment.  Took awhile to hunt it down but $20 later it was mine.
Using this tool I started in on one of my strings.  Within two feet of string I had found nearly a dozen bad bulbs!
This sucks!  I’m not going to spend christmas fixing lights.
So I just put up what I had which looked pretty bad.  As the hollidays went on the lights on my house got worse and worse – I wish I had taken a picture because it was quite comical to look at.
By new years, there were only a few sections left that were lit.
So that’s it right?  Wrong!
 
A week into the new year I was running errands and noticed that I had a nearly flat tire!  I took it to the nearest garage to get it fixed.
While waiting I decided to wander around the surrounding stores.  One of those stores was McClenden Hardware.  They happened to have their lights on sale – 75% off.
I asked the customer support table if they had LED lights yet or any reliable ones.  They pointed out that the only brand they had that was worth anything was pretty good, but that all the others were garbage.  Since they admitted they had garbage lights, I figured the lady was being honest.  So, for a fraction of what I paid for lights a year ago, I bought 300 feet of lights!  Pretty good deal I thought.
Of course there is no return on the lights so I had them test each before I would buy them.  Only one set had a problem which was just a lose light and since I bought about a dozen sets, I thought that was pretty good.
So those lights are now in my attic and my old bad ones went into the trash.
 
Next year lets see how well the lights work!
About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Homelife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

