Going Wireless

Well, I have been planning for some time to get a nice entertainment system at the ranch for guests.
I decided that it would be best to make it computer centric so I searched for a nice flat screen that works well with a PC.
Pretty nice as a PC monitor – I’m using it to blog this at 1920×1080 pixels – QUEL!
Anyway, the idea was to have the PC be connected wireless to the internet since I am now getting satelite (WildBlue) installed at the ranch.
I picked up a dual-channel N type wireless router and PCI card to test it out with the screen at my main home.
 
Well installing the wireless was easy but I can’t seem to connect to it.  I am using somebody’s default wireless hotspot in my neighborhood for now.
Also I plugged all my PCs into the wireless router instead of into my gigaswitch I was using – but now none of them can see the others.
 
Gonna take some time to figure this out.
About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

