Why I hate PDFs

People seem to love PDF files.  That’s because it preserves the paper mentality for them.
PDFs are printer friendly but information averse.
I am at this second printing a small book to read in the car.  To save paper I am printing 4 pages per paper page.  Due to the large margins for the original, the print is microscopic.  It need not be but PDFs do not lend themselves to easily re-presenting the information like .doc files do.
It always drives me nuts when I go online to submit an application for a new account of some kind and get pointed to a PDF file to print out, fill in by hand, and then scan in to fax to the firm in question.  A total waste of time and paper to me.  A simple HTTP form will do with a checkbox stating that I am attaching my signature to a contract and agree to uphold it – just like when you install software.
 
And that’s it for today’s LAME REPORT.
 
I’m Sanford Staab signing off for now.
About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I hate PDFs

  1. Ivan says:

    Mr. Staab, if you can e-mail me at ochoaivan@hotmail.com… I have a question about Monroi.Thank youIvan

Leave a Reply

