The case of the missing goat

A few weeks ago we got some goats free from a friend.

Got Goats?

The brown one is Gabriel and the white one is Simeon.  Goats make sense to me for my property because I have so much overgrowth of berry bushes and wild roses.  I like berries but 160 acres of them is too much.  Since we plan to thin our property down for fire safety, it makes sense to raise goats.

Ah but I have heard stories dear!  Yes most of the people I have heard of owning goats around here – no longer do.  Why?  Not sure but whenever I talk about them at the hardware store – everyone seems to say “I hate goats”.
These two are pretty well mannered and I like walking them around and guiding them to interesting cuisine.
My son’s handle for several websites is “missing goat” which just cracks me up when I look at these goats.  My wife just cracks up about them as well.
Before picking up the goats I built them a nice lean-to for shelter that is portable.  I then picked up some fence sections to create a mobile pen for them to stay in.  I move it every few days to keep them from over grazing and running away.
A few days ago I had them wandering around – usually they stay with me.  But when I checked on them they were gone.  I couldn’t find them anywhere.  After about 48 hours of them missing, I decided to put signs up around the area.  That afternoon a neighboor called and we picked them up.  The goats had apparently run down the road a couple of miles to where a herd of other goats were.  They seem to like company!
So that’s my first entry concerning our new adventure in Goat Herding.
About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Homelife and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

