The Painful Process of Lowering Expectations

Moto sleepy on run livingroom ranch

Ah, what are cats for?  Maybe just for lessons in life.

For the last several nights my cat has been restless and wanted to go out and come back in several times, waking me up each time.  In the summer, she stays outside all the time. We have a nice spot in our nursery where she can be warm and comfy.  But in the winter, I let her come inside especially at night.  There are conditions however, and over time, these need reinforcement.  She knows she better not scratch up the woodwork or furniture and she better not poop in the house either.  As long as she behaves, I let her go out and come in as she pleases.

But over time, the boundary creep sets in.  Things get taken for granted and she begins to expect me to be her door keeper, sometimes 4 times in a night!  When this happens its time to kick her out and make her stay out.

Such nights are difficult because she is constantly scratching to get back in.  What can I do?  If I let her in, she will continue to be master of the house and I her door slave.  So I spend a night listening to her scratch and feeling for her bewilderment as she wonders why she can’t come in at night in the winter when she was in just fine last night.

I must be an evil master.  I must have gotten into one of my ‘moods’ again.  I tried to explain it to her this morning, but I doubt she understands.

After a long night of suffering, I let her in and we resume the dance of life together and I hope tomorrow night, I will only have to let her out once, if at all.

About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

