The downside of solar

Last night I decided to turn off the power to my home so that I could drain my batteries using my solar system to cycle them. I do this about every other month to keep my batteries working well. Usually what happens is that when my heating system comes on it may overload my inverters and they will trip offline and I will reset them in the morning and commence to charge the battery. This morning appeared to be normal except that the inverters did not trip offline and one was trying to charge the battery while the other one was cycling between charging and floating the battery. I had never seen this happen before. Things were looking very strange and I discovered that the voltage at some Outlets was only 40 volts. After many hours of troubleshooting I narrowed the problem down to two circuits in the basement near my heating system. I discovered my booster pump was broken, the power supply to my computer was damaged, and it appears that some of the refridgerators and freezers are acting up. I called the company that installed my heating system and they will be sending their top electrician to troubleshoot what went wrong. Even now when I try to turn my computer on the voltage fluctuates on my lights and my lights dim. So I feel quite isolated right now because I’m afraid to use any sophisticated electrical devices in my house. It’s been a pretty Freaky Monday.

About sanfords

Ex Microsoft Dev for 20 years. Currently retired at my ranch in Idaho near Kooskia. I like coaching Chess for kids so let me know if you are interested in those services.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

